Slider 3Slider 1

Congratulations JD community! The Jamesville-DeWitt Board of Education voted on April 2 to reinstate the modified sports coaching positions that were cut from the 2011-12 budget. The goal was accomplished through the donation of funds for the athletic training position by Fitness Forum ($38,000) and the Board allocating the remainder ($12,000) from the 2012-13 budget. This means re-hiring nine modified coaches and funding travel and officiating expenses in order to field two modified teams in boys and girls soccer, football, boys and girls lacrosse, softball, baseball, and increased participation for cross country and track & field.

Thank you to everyone who came out Sunday, April 22nd in support of the Red Ram Run.  We had over 200 registrants and raised over $3000 for Save JD Sports!  Congratulations to our men’s and women’s 1st place 5K runners: Steve Hicks and Stacy Wanamaker

While we celebrate the accomplishment of that portion of our goal, there are four varsity and junior varsity assistant coaching positions that the Board of Education did not reinstate. Therefore, the Save JD Sports campaign will donate $17,840 to reinstate assistant varsity coaches for boys and girls lacrosse and track & field and a JV cheerleading coach. This donation follows the $48,000 Save JD Sports contribution made to reinstate the 2012 spring modified programs and the varsity positions mentioned previously.

Our long term goal of working with the JD School District and the Board of Education to reinstate all positions and program funding continues. Communication with district administrators and the Board of Education must be ongoing to ensure all athletics funds are restored to the budget. We believe that the opportunity to participate in scholastic sports at the Modified and High School levels is critical to the development of our children.

We are confident that our community will continue embrace and support our mission to provide opportunities for our children to participate in scholastic sports.

Save JD Sports Committee Members: Eric Johnson, Joy Binder & Orit Antosh